South Hill is governed by an eight member Town Council headed by a Mayor.

Mayor Dean MarionMayor Dean Marion

Each Council member serves four year terms, and the Town Manager oversees the daily operation of the Town.  Find out more about Town Council >>
View list of South Hill Mayors >>

The County seat is Boydton.

The Town Council has adopted a Comprehensive Plan, and the Town is zoned. The Code Compliance Official may be reached by calling (434) 447-3191.

Information on Voter Registration and Elections >>

The Town of South Hill's Code of Ordinances is available online at Municode.

Mecklenburg County (434) 738-6191

Voter Registration (434) 738-6191

Town of South Hill Municipal Government Budget

Each year the South Hill Town Council approves the Town of South Hill's budget and sets the property tax rate based on the assessed value of property inside the Town limits.  The Town Council develops the budget during the winter and spring prior to a new fiscal year, which runs from July 1 to June 30.  Opportunities are given for public input.  Copies of the budget document are on file at the Town Clerk's Office and Finance Director's Office in the Town Hall, 211 S. Mecklenburg Avenue.

Budget and Rate Summary FY18 adopted June 12, 2017

South Hill Planning Commission


Term of Office Expires
David Hash Code Compliance Official  
Laurie J. Malone 4 years 12/31/19
Tammy Manning 4 years 12/31/21
Holly S. Blackwell 4 years 12/31/19
William M. "Mike" Moody Town Council  
Bruce E. Robinson 4 years 12/31/18
Steven Stanley 4 years 07/10/20
Woody Oakley 4 years 12/31/18
Lincoln Sturdivant 4 years 12/31/21
Stuart Taylor 4 years 12/31/20
Carolyn J. Walker 4 years 12/31/20

Monthly Meeting Schedule

South Hill Planning Commission
First Monday at 7PM (Town Hall Council Chambers)

South Hill Town Council
Second Monday at 7PM (Town Hall Council Chambers)

South Hill Revitalization Committee
Third Wednesday at noon (Town Hall Conference Room B)